People

Susan Lutgendorf

Susan Lutgendorf

Professor & Starch Faculty Fellow
susan-lutgendorf@uiowa.edu

Research Interests

  • Psychoneuroimmunology
  • Biobehavioral mechanisms in Cancer, Aging, and Inflammatory Diseases
  • Behavioral Medicine Interventions and Immune Function
  • Use of Complementary and Alternative Medicine Approaches in Behavioral Medicine (e.g., Yoga, Tai Chi, Qi Gong, and Biofield Therapies)
  • Adjustment to Chronic Illness

Jessican Armer

Jessica Armer

Graduate Student
jessica-armer@uiowa.edu

 


Jen Bayer

Graduate Student
jennifer-bayer@uiowa.edu

Jen is interested in how mental health, lifestyle factors, and physical health are connected. Her research spans from the deeply biochemical, such as how stress hormones affect antioxidant enzyme activity in tumor tissue, to how yoga affects stress hormones and inflammatory responses, to how yoga interventions affect functional outcomes. Thus, her work is at the interface of behavioral and biomedical science. She is also interested in how to optimize health behavior change and maintenance, such as using a telephone-based smoking cessation intervention to reach rural veterans. 


Michaela Cuneo

Graduate Student
michaela-cuneo@uiowa.edu

Michaela is interested in the bidirectional relationship between psychological traits and biological systems within medical disease, particularly as they relate to stress, chronic illness, and women’s health. She is most interested in biological systems related to neuroendocrine hormones, immune/inflammatory processes, and tumor growth and metastasis, in addition to how psychosocial variables may impact these systems. Michaela is currently funded by the T32 training grant "Mechanisms of Health and Disease at the Behavioral and Biomedical Interface".


Ellen KinnerEllen Kinner

Graduate Research Assistant
ellen-kinner@uiowa.edu


Alyssa Noble

Research Assistant
alyssa-e-noble@uiowa.edu


Sarah StrackSarah Strack

Lab Manager
sarah-strack@uiowa.edu