Faculty Mentors

 Susan Lutgendorf

Program Director

Susan Lutgendorf
Professor & Starch Faculty Fellow, Psychological and Brain Sciences
susan-lutgendorf@uiowa.edu
Office: 479 PBSB
Office Phone: 319-335-2432

 Dan Tranel

Program Co-Director

Daniel Tranel
Professor, Neurology/Psychological and Brain Sciences
daniel-tranel@uiowa.edu
Office: 2206 RCP
Office Phone: 319-384-6050

Behavioral and Interface Mentors

Ece Demir-Lira

Bengi Baran
Assistant Professor, Psychological and Brain Sciences
bengi-baran@uiowa.edu
Office: 370 PBSB
Office Phone: 319-467-4541

Mark BlumbergMark Blumberg
F. Wendell Miller Distinguished Professor, Psychological and Brain Sciences
mark-blumberg@uiowa.edu
Office: 378 PBSB
Office Phone: 319-335-2405
Ece Demir-Lira

Ece Demir-Lira
Associate Professor, Psychological and Brain Sciences
ece-demirlira@uiowa.edu
Office: 275 PBSB
Office Phone: 319-384-1815

Natalie Denburg

Natalie L. Denburg
Associate Professor, Neurology/Psychological and Brain Sciences
natalie-denburg@uiowa.edu
Office: 2155 RCP
Office Phone: 319-356-7619

Eliot Hazeltine

Eliot Hazeltine
Professor, Psychological and Brain Sciences
eliot-hazeltine@uiowa.edu
Office: 276 PBSB
Office Phone: 319-335-0616

Kai Hwang

Kai Hwang
Assistant Professor, Psychological and Brain Sciences
kai-hwang@uiowa.edu
Office: 377 PBSB

Jiefeng Jiang

Jiefeng Jiang
Assistant Professor, Psychological and Brain Sciences
jiefeng-jiang@uiowa.edu
Office: 373 PBSB

Alan Kim Johnson

Alan Kim Johnson
F. Wendell Miller Distinguished Professor, Psychological and Brain Sciences
alan-johnson@uiowa.edu
Office: 375 PBSB
Office Phone: 319-335-2423

Dorit Kleinmann

Dorit Kliemann
Assistant Professor, Psychological and Brain Sciences
dorit-kliemann@uiowa.edu
Office: 476 PBSB

Ryan LaLumiere

Ryan LaLumiere
Associate Professor, Psychological and Brain Sciences
ryan-lalumiere@uiowa.edu
Office: 474 PBSB
Office Phone: 319-335-3657

Amanda McCleery

Amanda McCleery
Assistant Professor, Psychological and Brain Sciences
amanda-mccleery@uiowa.edu
Office: 473 PBSB

Molly Nikolas

Molly Nikolas
Associate Professor, Psychological and Brain Sciences
molly-nikolas@uiowa.edu
Office: 372 PBSB
Office Phone: 319-335-2455

Isaac Petersen

Isaac Petersen
Assistant Professor, Psychological and Brain Sciences
isaac-t-petersen@uiowa.edu
Office: 175 PBSB
Office Phone: 319-467-1014

Jason Radley

Jason Radley
Associate Professor, Psychological and Brain Sciences
jason-radley@uiowa.edu
Office: 475 PBSB
Office Phone: 319-335-0019

Emily Kroska

Emily Thomas
Clinical Assistant Professor, Psychological and Brain Sciences
emily-thomas@uiowa.edu
Office: 470 PBSB

James Traer

James Traer
Assistant Professor, Psychological and Brain Sciences
james-traer@uiowa.edu
Office: 477 PBSB

Mark Vander Weg
Mark Vander Weg

Professor and Head, Community and Behavioral Health/Psychological and Brain Sciences
mark-vanderweg@uiowa.edu
Office: N432A CPHB
Office Phone: 319 467 1377

Michelle Voss

Michelle Voss
Associate Professor, Psychological and Brain Sciences
michelle-voss@uiowa.edu
Office: 274 PBSB
Office Phone: 319-335-2057

Jan Wessel

Jan Wessel
Associate Professor, Psychological and Brain Sciences
jan-wessel@uiowa.edu
Office: E114 SSH
Office Phone: 319-335-2482

Paul WindschitlPaul Windschitl
Professor, Psychological and Brain Sciences
Office: 272 PBSB
Office Phone: 319-335-2435

Biomedical Mentors

Ted Abel

Ted Abel
Professor, Molecular Physiology and Biophysics, Psychiatry, and Biochemistry
ted-abel@uiowa.edu
Office: 2312 PBDB
Memory, Epigenetics, Neurodevelopmental Disorders

Aaron Boes

Aaron Boes
Associate Professor, Neurology
aaron-boes@uiowa.edu
Office: T205 General Hospital
Lesion Mapping, Neuroimaging, Brain Stimulation

Catherine Bradley

Catherine Bradley
Director, Division of Urogynecology and Reconstructive Pelvic Surgery, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
catherine-bradley@uiowa.edu
Office: 51217 PFP
Urogynecology, Pelvic pain

Amy Conrad

Amy Conrad
Associate Professor of Pediatrics 
amy-l-conrad@uiowa.edu
Office: 146-B Center for Disabilities and Development
Office phone: 319-384-9214
Neuroimaging, brain development in children
 

Brian Dlouhy

Brian Dlouhy
Assistant Professor, Neurosurgery
brian-dlouhy@uiowa.edu
Office: 1615-B JCP
Forebrain control of breathing, SUDEP/SIDS, Amygdala

Sarah Ferri

Sarah Ferri
Assistant Professor of Pediatrics 
sarah-ferri@uiowa.edu
Office: 2400 PBDB
Mechanisms of Social deficits and sex bias in neurodevelopmental disorders

Matthew Howard

Matthew Howard
Chair and DEO, Professor, Department of Neurosurgery
matthew-howard@uiowa.edu
Office: 1823 JPP
Human Brain Physiology

Karin Hoth

Karin Hoth
Associate Professor of Psychiatry
karin-hoth@uiowa.edu
Office: W278 GH
Neuropsychology, Neuroimaging, Chronic illness

Nathaniel Jenkins

Nathaniel Jenkins
Assistant Professor, Department of Health and Human Physiology
Office: E118 FH
Phone: 319-467-3091
Early life Psychosocial stress, Physiology, Stress reactivity

Yi Luo

Yi Luo
Professor, Urology
yi-luo@uiowa.edu
Office: 240D EMRB
Office Phone: 319-335-9835

Jacob Michaelson

Jacob Michaelson
Roy J. Carver Professor of Psychiatry and Neuroscience
jacob-michaelson@uiowa.edu
Office: 365 MRC
Office Phone: 319-335-8066
Autism, Language impairment, Genetics, Sleep, Creativity, Eating disorders, Machine learning

Kumar Narayanan

Kumar Narayanan
Juanita J. Bartlet Professor of Neurology
nandakumar-narayanan@uiowa.edu
Office: 1336 PBDB
Memory, Epigenetics, Neurodevelopmental Disorders

Mark Niciu

Mark Niciu, MD, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Psychiatry and Interdisciplinary Graduate Program in Neuroscience
mark-niciu@uiowa.edu
Office: W267 GH
Phone: 319-356-1549
Pathophysiology of major mood disorders, ketamine, biomarkers of treatment resistance

Peg Nopoulos

Peggy Nopoulos
Professor, Psychiatry
peggy-nopoulos@uiowa.edu
Office: W278 General Hospital
Office Phone: 319-384-9264
Magnetic Resonance Imaging, Neurodevelopment, Neurogenetics

Kirill Nourski, M.D., Ph.D.

Kirill Nourski, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Neurosurgery and Interdisciplinary Graduate Program in Neuroscience
Office: 406 MRC
Phone: 319-353-4494
Epilepsy/seizures, disorders of consciousness, sleep

Michael O'Rorke

Michael O'Rorke
Assistant Professor, Epidemiology, College of Public Health
michael-ororke@uiowa.edu
Office: S451 CPHB
Office Phone: 319-384-1560
Molecular Cancer Epidemiology, Cancer Epidemiology, Pharmacoepidemiology

George Richerson

George Richerson
The Roy J. Carver Chair in Neuroscience
Professor Department, Neurology
george-richerson@uiowa.edu
Office: 2151-A1 RCP
Office Phone: 319-356-4296
Serotonin, Electrophysiology, Control of Breathing, Epilepsy

Diane Rohlman

Diane Rohlman
Professor and Endowed Chair in Rural Safety and Health, Department of Occupational and Environmental Health
diane-rohlman@uiowa.edu
Office: S324 CPHB
Office Phone: 319-384-4007
Environmental/Occupational Exposures, Pesticides, Neurobehavioral Outcomes

Andrew Russo

Andy Russo
Professor, Molecular Physiology and Biophysics
andrew-russo@uiowa.edu
Office: 5-432 Bowen Science Building
Office Phone: 319-335-7872
Migraine, Neuropeptides, Pain Sensitization

Kathleen Sluka, P.T., Ph.D., FAPTA

Kathleen Sluka, P.T., Ph.D., FAPTA
Professor, Department of Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation Science
kathleen-sluka@uiowa.edu
Office: 1-248 MEB
Office Phone: 319-335-9799
Pain, Sex differences, Immune system

Douglas Spitz

Douglas Spitz
Director, Biosciences Program
Professor, Department of Radiation Oncology
douglas-spitz@uiowa.edu
Office: B180-E ML
Free Radical Biology, Cancer Biology, Degenerative diseases associated with aging

Hanna Stevens

Hanna Stevens
Associate Professor of Psychiatry
hanna-stevens@uiowa.edu
Prenatal Development, Inflamation, Neurodevelopmental disorders

Lane Strathearn, MBBS, FRACP, Ph.D.

Lane Strathearn, MBBS, FRACP, Ph.D.
Professor, Pediatrics, Psychiatry, Neuroscience and Pharmacology, Psychological and Brain Sciences
Director, Center for Disabilities and Development

Office: 213F CDD
Phone: 319-356-7044
Developmental pediatrics, developmental, behavioral, and genetic risk markers for autism

Steve Varga

Steve Varga
Professor, Microbiology
steven-varga@uiowa.edu
Office: 3-532 BSB

George Weiner

George Weiner
Professor, Internal Medicine - Hematology, Oncology and Blood and Marrow Transplantation
george-weiner@uiowa.edu
Office: 5970-Z JPP
Office Phone: 319-353-8395
Cancer Immunology, Cancer Immunotherapy, Tumor Microenvironment

Kara Whitaker

Kara Whitaker
Assistant Professor, Department of Health and Human Physiology
kara-whitaker@uiowa.edu
Office: E116 FH
Phone: 319-335-7907
Sedentary Behavior, Physical Activity, Pregnancy